In Costa Rica I learned nothing, only remembered from ancient depths ~

Dear blog readers,
You know, I originally planned to post regular updates, sharing what I was learning on my travels. I didn’t end up writing at all on the trip, I was rarely around technology, and when I was, I didn’t feel like there were even words to put to my experience.The beautiful things that happen in life usually aren’t when things go to plan. We don’t plan to fall in love, or plan to become gripped by creativity and create something from deep within us. Beauty isn’t pre-determined, it is found in the moment.I am sitting on the plane flying out of San Jose, watching this beautiful land fade away with tears in my eyes.

This trip did not go to plan, and it was so beautiful. Things will never be the same for me.

I felt so welcomed and loved and held in Costa Rica, and am so grateful to the land for teaching me so much, and to all the people I met who left me deeply inspired. I will try to share some of my experiences now.

I felt the true abundance of the world on magical permaculture farms, walking amidst fruit trees and twisted herbs and spices. Permaculture seeks to use the natural energy present in a system to produce abundance, to use the natural intelligences of nature. I will be writing about this more, but that seed of permaculture design is awakening in me.

I re-connected to my deepest creative passions, including dance, music, and cooking. I danced Gabriel Roth’s 5Rythms for 5 days, a workshop at the Pachamama community.

I made superfoods and jumped naked into hotsprings, learning about nutrition and raw foods. I experienced the chaos and power of creativity unleashed, in the form of a total creative genius who is exploding with so much energy all the time that sometimes everything is thrown off-kilter, but there is always endless excitement and learning.

Kitchen and garden at Gaia Thermales hotsprings

Kitchen and garden at Gaia Thermales hotsprings

I was swept into deep shamanic and mystical experiences with an indigenous grandmother elder. Thank you for initiating me and helping me remember. I saw into past lives and tapped into deep power within myself. We went beneath our two legged-ness, beneath our human intelligence into something deeper. Human life is only 400000yrs old We have 13 billion years of universal life force intelligence coming through us.

I shared part of this journey with a beautiful friend and fellow star-sister and lover, thank you for serving as a honest mirror and for humbling my ego. Your wise owl wisdom for us to part ways set both of us free to pursue our own paths, yet I feel our connection stronger than ever.

I met visionary and brilliant artists, poets, dancers, farmers and we even got to gather at a beautiful river and celebrate together, including my 21st birthday celebration.

I learned about eco villagery and saw into real possibilities for how human beings can live sustainably on this planet, together. The biggest obstacles to this our within ourselves, not “out there.” We have all the technology, tools, models, concepts and examples we need to create global regenerative culture, where human presence on the earth replenishes and adds to eco-systems, rather than destroys them. It is our own issues and personalities and lack of ability to come together that stands in the way of this.

I was transported to another universe at Envision and the Tribal Alliance gathering, where my connection to the earth was amplified. Still processing that experience, and will need to write about it later. Jam Base has a good write – up of Envision if you want to read more about it (and see some insane pictures)

I landed in Costa Rica with a strange impulse to shave my head, and my last day, finally did. I often get compliments on my hair, especially from women, and totally think my hair is sexy. I was feeling pretty attached to it, reluctant to let it all go. Realizing that was exactly why I picked up the clippers and shaved it, to let this go. I feel that on this journey I have let go of so much of who I thought I was. Losing the hair is an outer reflection that, letting go of something visible that I and others identified me with. Having a shaved head actually feels amazing, and I also know my hair will come back, sexier than ever.

Evernote Camera Roll 20140316 135602-1
 Me with hair gone
I have a vision of driving north, far north, like northern Canada, and then west to British Columbia and south down down to California. I am so filled with excitement on this plane, feeling the impermanence of Costa Rica disappearing below and the road ahead coming into view. Maybe I will share more here as my journey unfolds…a poem reflection…
I came to Costa Rica to remember who I am.
I learned nothing, only re-membered from ancient depths
Goodbye sweet pura vida love
the breath of impermanence
the eternity of this moment, gleaming
tears stream down my face, magic rainbow droplets
red ruby of the tongue initiates new songs
i left my hair and my name in your green mountains
deep trust as the journey ahead unfolds;
and things will never be the same.
Evernote Camera Roll 20140316 135643
–An amazing brew my beautiful friends Blanca and Octavio brought to Envision. I learned how to make it, found sources for the ingredients, and will be serving it up in the US when I return! 
 
Evernote Camera Roll 20140316 145633
5Rhythms dance at Pachamama
Evernote Camera Roll 20140316 145737
Where I lived at Pachamama, Iguana casita #10! (and thanks abuela for cleaning it out) 
 
I hung out at the beach too :)
I hung out at the beach too 🙂
Some beautiful creatures I shared this journey with
Some beautiful creatures I shared this journey with
Grandmother Kaariina turtle medicine- a huge initiation
Grandmother Kaariina turtle medicine- a huge initiation
 
Evernote Camera Roll 20140316 150048Volunteering at ENVISION — the festival was build alost entirely out of bamboo
At envision, Fairy-hooding it up
At envision, Fairy-hooding it up
 
Verdenergia is a special place -- where Tribal Alliance gathering took place -- so so beautiful in everyway. A permaculture farm and intentional community with 40 members. Verdenergia.org.
Verdenergia is a special place — where Tribal Alliance gathering took place — so so beautiful in everyway. A permaculture farm and intentional community with 40 members. Verdenergia.org.
 
VerdEnergia kitchen and staff house
VerdEnergia kitchen and staff house
 
working with CACAO with cacao priestess Blanca + Octavio
working with CACAO with cacao priestess Blanca + Octavio
Ending with shaved head  ^^^
Ending with shaved head ^^^
 
3 thoughts on “In Costa Rica I learned nothing, only remembered from ancient depths ~

Leave a Reply

