Clear Water and Other Poems

In the past month I’ve been picking up the pen more and letting poetry flow through. Here are some original writings on love, permaculture, earth healing, and journeys of learning.

Clear Water

I’ll dance for no reason,

Tracing outlines of time with my torso,

 body unfurling through space,

transforming

the seasons.

~

Give me no reason to ripple, wind caress my surface for the pure joy of movement.

Pleasure me often and don’t ask why,

for the birds sing 30 minutes before sunrise to wake up the trees,

Breathing deep

Oxygen enters me for free.

~

Pay me nothing to give all I can give, I only ask you receive my fruits with humility.

Burn bright for hours, turning effort to embers,

Expectations to dust,

Surrender.

~

Walk softly and look and see your surroundings

Take back this colonial grid,

mold it into a thousand colorful possibilities,

create places of gatherings.

~

Bring me warm tea in bed

as I doze off and dream of my grandaughters

drinking fresh water

from a cold, clear stream.

Original Painting by Autum Skye. She says,  "A prayer for rain, for balance, for healing. This is in reverence of water, and in grief for the environmental crisis that we have perpetuated through our short-sightedness. May we remember that it is water and the sacred cycles of nature that sustain us. This is the same water that courses through our veins and flows from our eyes. May we truly acknowledge how our actions have brought us to this point, feel deeply our remorse, and choose differently how we live on this planet. It is not too late! The healing waters are within us. Let the tears flow...."
Original Painting by Autum Skye. She says,
“A prayer for rain, for balance, for healing. This is in reverence of water, and in grief for the environmental crisis that we have perpetuated through our short-sightedness. May we remember that it is water and the sacred cycles of nature that sustain us. This is the same water that courses through our veins and flows from our eyes. May we truly acknowledge how our actions have brought us to this point, feel deeply our remorse, and choose differently how we live on this planet. It is not too late! The healing waters are within us. Let the tears flow….”

I miss your sweetness

But I’m afraid to say so
I don’t want to want something so badly
And be powerless in my grasping
But love is not a game
or a contest, it is surrender
~
And I give up my wanting and give into my longing
To live free of possessions and full of belonging
As my sisters cry out powerfully on stage with animal faces crying behind them,
They have the courage to speak their hearts and I honor them by doing the same
~
More fear in my belly than a deer in the arrows path
~
In the soft moments when stillness says to me what I do not want to hear
I realize I miss you, and long to be near
To share these eyes and ears and kiss your hands that they may built a garden of passionate aliveness
~
I lean into the challenge
That is loving and losing and being broken open again
Again and again to what it means to carry silently my heart while my mind screams
And to follow the silence into the unknown
Into release
Will there be relief?
~
I will drop beneath the surface
Into the depths we can know
But I will not remember how to breathe.
~
Where no sunlight penetrates is where I find my light
And this is where we come from
This dark depth
Is where our cells first learned to love
deep under the ices of ocean
~
So I will drop beneath the surface
And pray that you will come with me
 I will enter  the depths
Even if I’m not sure I can breathe
~
So take me down deep
Below knowing anything
Anaerobic life cleansing me
Rising anew to reclaim the earth
Reclaim with love
Reclaim with power
Recycling water
Sustainable truth
Peace above all
Is why I stand
After the depths
Into morning light
To take your hand
Leave a Reply

